Tuesday, July 16, 2019

Devon Delaney's Guilty as Charred Blog Tour with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have Devon Delaney at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway.

Thanks Devon and Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours for allowing me to join your Guilty as Charred Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Devon!


EXCERPT

FROM CHAPTER 1

“Herb, that’s enough. Sit down so Sherry can give her other fans a chance for a picture.”

Herb let loose a boisterous chuckle before returning to his seat. His wife crawled over his legs to reach hers.

“I shouldn’t have postponed my highlight appointment at Hair Force One.” Sherry sighed as she imagined the unflattering images the camera phones captured.

“You have a very natural look,” the stewardess offered. “Cooks are supposed to spend time in the kitchen not at the beauty salon.”

Sherry peered back over her shoulder and met a line of people that clogged the plane’s aisle as far as she could see. She jerked her head toward the stewardess, who cradled a pillow under one arm.

“I’ll cater your next get-together if you announce mealtime right now.”

“Ladies and gentlemen, this is the captain speaking. I’ve been advised of severe turbulence in the airspace ahead of us. Please return to your seats and fasten your seat belts until further notice.”

A collective whine reverberated throughout the plane’s cabin.

The captain’s ominous words sent a cold vibration through Sherry’s core. As passengers dispersed, Sherry sighed and tucked her trophy back in the overhead bin. The intercom speaker crackled to life as she slammed the compartment door shut. She nestled in her seat, pulled her seat belt tight, and settled her arms into a self-hug.

“This is the captain again. I have an update, not weather related. I’ve been advised we are flying today with a celebrity onboard.”

Sherry pinched her eyes shut and held her breath.

“The winner of America’s Good Taste recipe contest is among us. I’m honored to be transporting Sherry Oliveri home, along with her winnings. I’m told she is an Augustin, Connecticut, native, who prepared New England Crab Cake Sliders for the big win, and I’d like everyone to join in a heartfelt round of applause for representing the Northeast so well in the national contest.”

“Please don’t give out my address,” Sherry whispered as her eyes widened. Heads rotated her way and Sherry gave the queen’s wave in all directions. The plane dropped, along with Sherry’s stomach.

“Sorry, folks. I shouldn’t try to walk and chew gum at the same time. Or make that, I shouldn’t try to steer the plane to a calmer altitude and applaud for a celebrity passenger at the same time. Better keep my eyes on the road, so to speak. But the rest of you, put your hands together for our winner.”

After the brief but robust clapping ended, Sherry leaned her head back and peered out the window.

“Would you mind if I took that middle seat until the plane finds calmer air? It’s a long way back to row six.”

Sherry looked up and was eye level with the belt buckle of a man in dusty rose-colored shorts, white tube socks, and black sneakers. “Of course. I’ll move my purse.” Sherry gathered her overstuffed bag from the empty window seat to her left. She scanned the floor for any unoccupied space to set the tote down in. Seeing only enough room for her feet, she nestled the bag on her lap. She pulled her knees up against the edge of the seat cushion and the man maneuvered by.






Guilty as Charred (A Cook-Off Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Kensington (June 25, 2019)
Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
ISBN-10: 1496714474
ISBN-13: 978-1496714473
Digital ASIN: B07HVYY7KN






Sherry Oliveri has attained celebrity status after winning the America’s Good Taste Recipe Contest with her delectable New England Crab Cake Sliders. But now that she’s back home in Connecticut, she’s got to deal with something else fishy.

Sherry’s making a guest appearance on a local radio show when the news comes in: Poppy Robinson has been found dead in the town’s community garden. Sherry was supposed to be taking questions about her win in the national cooking competition, but instead the callers start dishing dirt.

Poppy and Sherry were both involved in the vegetable garden, and while Poppy may have been a bit priggish, it wasn’t anything that called for a shovel to the back of the head. There was already trouble brewing, with the owner of the land threatening to renege on their agreement, and this murder has taken tensions to a new level. Now while Sherry’s organizing a Fourth of July cook-off event, she’s also got a murder investigation on her plate.

Includes Recipes from Sherry’s Kitchen! 

 





About the Author

Devon Delaney is a wife, mother of three, accomplished cooking contester, recent empty nester, and lifelong resident of the Northeast. She has been handsomely rewarded for her recipe innovation over the last twenty-plus years, including a full kitchen of major appliances, top cash prizes, and four trips to Disney World. She has also won the Grand Prize in a national writing contest for her “foodie” poem “Ode to Pork Passion.”

Check out Devon’s website at: www.devonpdelaney.com and find her on Instagram – https://www.instagram.com/devonpdelaney/

Purchase LinksAmazonB and NKoboGoogle PlayIndieBound

Monday, July 15, 2019

Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads (July 15)




 Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads


Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books you read last week and books being read this week.


Read Last Week:

1.  Sweet Tea and Secrets - Joy Avon
2.  A Crafter Hooks a Killer - Holly Quinn

Weekly Read:

1.  Paranoid - Lisa Jackson
2.  Connections in Death - J.D. Robb

Anna Gerard's Peach Clobbered Blog Tour with a Spotlight and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have Anna Gerard at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks Anna and Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours for allowing me to join your Peach Clobbered Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Anna!








Peach Clobbered: A Georgia B and B Mystery
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Crooked Lane Books (July 9, 2019)
Hardcover
ISBN-10: 1643850067
ISBN-13: 978-1643850061
Digital ASIN: B07JMK2JRD





What’s black and white and dead all over? Georgia bed and breakfast proprietor Nina Fleet finds out when she comes across a corpse in a penguin costume.

Nina Fleet’s life ought to be as sweet as a Georgia peach. Awarded a tidy sum in her divorce, Nina retired at 41 to a historic Queen Anne house in quaint Cymbeline, GA. But Nina’s barely settled into her new B and B-to-be when a penguin shows up on her porch. Or, at least, a man wearing a penguin suit.

Harry Westcott is making ends meet as an ice cream shop’s mascot and has a letter from his great-aunt, pledging to leave him the house. Too bad that’s not what her will says. Meanwhile, the Sisters of Perpetual Poverty have lost their lease. Real estate developer Gregory Bainbridge intends to turn the convent into a golfing community, so Cymbeline’s mayor persuades Nina to take in the elderly nuns. And then Nina finds the “penguin” again, this time lying in an alley with a kitchen knife in his chest.

A peek under the beak tells Nina it’s not Harry inside the costume, but Bainbridge. What was he doing in Harry’s penguin suit? Was the developer really the intended victim, or did the culprit mean to kill Harry? Whoever is out to stop Harry from contesting the sale of his great-aunt’s house may also be after Nina, so she teams up with him to cage the killer before someone clips her wings in Peach Clobbered, Anna Gerard’s charming first Georgia B and B mystery.







About the Author

DIANE A.S. STUCKART is the New York Times bestselling author of the Black Cat Bookshop Mystery series (writing as Ali Brandon). She’s also the author of the award-winning Leonardo da Vinci historical mysteries, as well as several historical romances and numerous mystery, fantasy, and romance short stories. The first book in her Tarot Cats Mystery series is FOOL’S MOON, available in trade, large print, and Kindle versions. Her Georgia B&B Mystery series from Crooked Lane Books launched July 2019 with PEACH CLOBBERED, written as Anna Gerard.

Diane is a member of Mystery Writers of America and has served as the 2018 and 2019 Chapter President of the MWA Florida chapter. In addition to her mystery writing affiliations, she’s a member of the Cat Writers’ Association and belongs to the Palm Beach County Beekeepers Association. She’s a native Texan with a degree in Journalism from the University of Oklahoma, but has been living in the West Palm Beach FL area since 2006. She shares her “almost in the Everglades” home with her husband, dogs, cats, and a few beehives. Learn more about her books at www.dianestuckart.com

Author Links

Websitewww.dianestuckart.com / www.georgiabbmysteries.com

Facebookwww.facebook.com/blackcatmysteries

Purchase Links

AMAZON BARNES and NOBLE

Giveaway

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792903

Please follow the rest of the tour here, thanks:

https://www.escapewithdollycas.com/great-escapes-virtual-book-tours/books-currently-on-tour/peach-clobbered-a-georgia-bb-mystery-by-anna-gerard








 

Sunday, July 14, 2019

Suzanne Trauth's No More Time Blog Tour with a Spotlight and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have Suzanne Trauth at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks Suzanne and Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours for allowing me to join your No More Time Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Suzanne! 





No More Time (A Dodie O’Dell Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
5th in Series
Lyrical Underground (July 23, 2019)
Paperback: 214 pages
ISBN-10: 1516107241
ISBN-13: 978-1516107247
Digital ASIN: B07JYQD61M




DEATH TAKES A HOLIDAY

Restaurant manager Dodie O’Dell has found her niche in the cozy New Jersey town of Etonville, creating menus that make a delicious double-act with the community theater’s productions. Now she’s ready for a vacation at the Jersey Shore town she called home before a hurricane hit. Sun, salty air, and seagulls make for a nostalgic escape from regular life — until a contingent from Etonville arrives to compete in a Jersey Shore theater festival.

Roped into helping her former boss cater the event, Dodie also gets a visit from her old flame, Jackson, who’s hoping to revive his charter boat business and is looking for a place to crash. Before Dodie can tell him that ship has sailed, Jackson’s partner is found murdered on his boat. Dodie knows her ex is a mooch, but she’s sure he’s no killer. But as she follows a trail of evidence that leads into her own past, Dodie stumbles on a dangerous conspiracy theory that could bring the festival to a shocking finale.





About the Author

Suzanne Trauth, Harvard Studio, Montclair, NJ. 06/27/2014 Photo by Steve Hockstein/HarvardStudio.com

Suzanne Trauth is a novelist, playwright, screenwriter, and a former theatre professor at a university. She is a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, the Dramatists Guild, and League of Professional Theatre Women. When she is not writing, Suzanne coaches actors and serves as a celebrant performing wedding ceremonies. She lives in Woodland Park, New Jersey.

Author Links

Webpage: www.suzannetrauth.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/SuzanneTrauth/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/SuzanneMTrauth

GoodReads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6187623.Suzanne_M_Trauth

Purchase Links

Amazon B and NKobo

Excerpt

By noon we were both hot and famished. I suggested a break from the sun at the tiki bar and we gathered our beach gear and trudged through the sand to the Polynesian music. We were halfway through our bucket of steamed clams when an elderly twosome at a table next to ours gasped in shock. We couldn’t help noticing.

“Is everything okay?” I asked gently.

The woman’s head bobbled and her wide-brimmed sunhat swung from side to side. She picked up the newspaper she’d been reading, the Candle Beach Courier, a local rag, and shoved the front page at us. “He was such a nice boy. We knew his parents years ago.”
I smiled sympathetically and scanned the sheet. Then I gasped.

“Dodie, what’s the matter?” Lola said.

“Were you acquainted with him too?” the woman asked.

I nodded numbly. Was I ever. The headline read LOCAL MAN DEAD. Underneath was a photo of the victim: It was Vinnie C. I rotated the paper so Lola could see the front page. “It’s him,” I said hoarsely.

Lola blinked. “Vincent Carcherelli,” she read.

I scanned the story. Apparently his body had been washed up on the beach sometime overnight and was discovered by a jogger early today in time to make the mid-morning edition. The police were calling it a drowning and speculating that he’d fallen off his boat, The Bounty, which had drifted half a mile off the shoreline. No foul play suspected at the moment but the investigation was ongoing.

I offered to return the newspaper but the couple refused to accept it, saying the story was too upsetting. They picked up their bill and left.

“Wow. What a coincidence. We were talking about how Jackson saw him yesterday …” Lola stopped. A light bulb went on. “The police will want to speak with Jackson. He might have been one of the last people to see Vinnie alive.”

It was Lola’s last word that brought me up short: alive. Jackson had been steamed during that meeting on the boardwalk. Did he know anything about Vinnie’s last hours? If Bill were here he’d tell me to mind my own business, let Jackson alone, let the police determine the actual cause of death. Bill was right, of course. But something about the whole event didn’t sit right with me. Why did Jackson lie about what happened when he met Vinnie? 

Giveaway

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792904
Please follow the rest of the tour here, thanks:

https://www.escapewithdollycas.com/great-escapes-virtual-book-tours/books-currently-on-tour/no-more-time-a-dodie-odell-mystery-by-suzanne-trauth








 

Monday, July 8, 2019

J.M. Griffin's Left Fur Dead Blog Tour with a Spotlight and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have J.M. Griffin at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks J.M. and Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours for allowing me to join your Left Fur Dead Blog Tour!

Please take it away, J.M.!




Left Fur Dead (A Jules and Bun Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
1st in Series
Kensington (June 25, 2019)
Mass Market Paperback: 304 pages
ISBN-10: 1496720571
ISBN-13: 978-1496720573
Digital ASIN: B07HVS38YB




On Fur Bridge Farm, Jules cares for rescued rabbits. But when a killer strikes, she’ll need a rabbit to rescue her.

Juliette “Jules” Bridge prides herself on the tender rehabilitation she provides for injured or abused rabbits on her New Hampshire rescue farm, but she has a very special relationship with one bunny in particular. Bun is a black-and-white rabbit who happens to have the ability to communicate through mental telepathy. Once she got over the shock, Jules found her furry friend had a lot to say.

One frigid March morning on their walk together, Bun spots a body. The police identify the frozen stiff as Arthur Freeman, aka Arty the Mime. Jules and Arty knew each other on the children’s party circuit, where he’d perform magic tricks and she had an educational rabbit petting pen. With Bun egging her on, Jules decides it’s time they hop to it and put their heads together to discover who silenced the mime. But their investigation leads them down a rabbit hole of more suspects and lies, while a killer sets a trap for them.






About the Author

J. M. Griffin is the bestselling cozy mystery author of sixteen novels, including the Vinnie Esposito series. She lives in rural Rhode Island with her husband and two very mysterious cats. Visit her at jm-griffin.com.

Author Links

WebsiteFacebookBlog

Purchase Links AmazonB and NKoboGoogle Play IndieBound

Giveaway

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792900

Please follow the rest of the tour here, thanks:

https://www.escapewithdollycas.com/great-escapes-virtual-book-tours/books-currently-on-tour/left-fur-dead-a-jules-bun-mystery-by-j-m-griffin








Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads (July 8)




 Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads


Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books you read last week and books being read this week.


Read Last Week:

1.  Dark Storm - Karen Harper

Weekly Read:

1.  Sweet Tea and Secrets - Joy Avon
2.  A Crafter Hooks a Killer - Holly Quinn

Sunday, July 7, 2019

Library Haul 2019 (July 7 - 13)


Here's the list of books I picked up from the library this week:

Hardcover:

1.  Connections in Death - J.D. Robb
2.  Paranoid - Lisa Jackson

Monday, July 1, 2019

Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads (July 1)




 Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads


Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books you read last week and books being read this week.


Read Last Week:

1.  Too Far Gone - Allison Brennan

Weekly Read:

1.  Dark Storm - Karen Harper