Tuesday, September 17, 2019

New Release (Sept 17)










I have three deadly problems:

1. I've seriously offended a maniacal killer.
2. I just had a bullet removed from my brain.
3. My new daughter is growing up too fast -- and she's in the line of fire.


Living on an obscure, technology-free island off California means safety from the murderer who hunts Kellen Adams and her new family.... Or does it? Family time becomes terror-time, and at last, alone, Kellen faces a killer playing a cruel game. Only one can survive, and Kellen knows who must win and who must die.

STRANGERS SHE KNOWS: The Grand Finale of Cape Charade Thrillers coming September 17, 2019. Pre-order your copy today!

Read the acclaimed Cape Charade series:
#1 HARD TO KILL: A Cape Charade Short Suspense
#2 DEAD GIRL RUNNING: A Cape Charade Full-length Thriller
#3 FAMILIES AND OTHER ENEMIES: A Cape Charade Short Suspense
#4 WHAT DOESN'T KILL ME: A Cape Charade Full-length Thriller
#5. HIDDEN TRUTHS: A Cape Charade Short Suspense
#6. STRANGERS SHE KNOWS: A Cape Charade Full-length Thriller
Coming in Audio! The three Cape Charade short suspenses, HARD TO KILL, FAMILIES AND OTHER ENEMIES and HIDDEN TRUTHS, starring Kellen Adams.

Join Christina Dodd's mailing list to enjoy book sales, book news, and entertainment brought right to your inbox, and a free story for you. christinadodd.com

Monday, September 16, 2019

Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads (Sept 16)




 Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads


Weekly Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Reads is a weekly Monday Meme that is hosted by Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews:

Post the books you read last week and books being read this week.


Read Last Week:

1.  Read on Arrival - Nora Page
2.  The Inn - James Patterson

Weekly Read:

1.  Rival's Break - Carla Neggers
2.  Smoke Screen - Iris Johansen

Sunday, September 15, 2019

Library Haul 2019 (Sept 15 - 21)


Here's the list of books I picked up from the library this week:

Hardcover:

1.  Rival's Break - Carla Neggers

Saturday, September 14, 2019

Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Mail (Sept 14)


Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Mail is hosted every Saturday at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received this in the mail this week.      







Dr. Dylan Reinhart and Detective Elizabeth Needham -- now known to audiences from the top - rated CBS series -- reunite to stop the most sinister plot against New York City since 9/11.

The murder of an Ivy League professor pulls Dr. Dylan Reinhart out of his ivory tower and onto the streets of New York, where he reunites with his old partner, Detective Elizabeth Needham. As the worst act of terror since 9/11 strikes the city, a name on the casualty list rocks Dylan's world. Is his secret past about to be brought to light?

As the terrorist attack unfolds, Elizabeth Needham does something courageous that thrusts her into the media spotlight. She's a reluctant hero. And thanks to the attention, she also becomes a prime target for the ruthless murderer behind the attack.

Dylan literally wrote the book on the psychology of murder, and he and Elizabeth have solved cases that have baffled conventional detectives. But the sociopath they're facing this time is the opposite of a textbook case. There's no time to study for the test he's about to give them. And if they fail, they die.

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Sofie Kelly's A Night's Tail Blog Tour with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have Sofie Kelly at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight, Excerpt and Giveaway.

Thanks Sofie and Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours for allowing me to join your A Night's Tail Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Sofie!


Excerpt


We stayed for the band’s second set and then headed home. Brady offered to drop off Milo and Derek at the bed-and-breakfast where they were staying but it was a nice night — clear and just a couple of degrees below freezing and they decided to walk down. Marcus, Ethan and I squeezed into the front seat of my truck.

“Is there going to be kissing?” Ethan asked, when I pulled in the driveway at Marcus’s house. He squished his face and pulled his shoulders up around his ears. He was sitting in the middle between Marcus and me.

“Yes, there’s going to be kissing.” I leaned across him, covering his eyes with one hand, and gave Marcus a quick kiss.

“I’ll call you after practice,” he said.

Marcus was helping coach the girls’ high school hockey team. They were just one win away from making it to the state finals.

I nodded.

“Good to see you, Ethan,” he added and climbed out of the truck.

“Is it safe to look?” Ethan asked. I’d already dropped my hand. He opened one eye, squinting at me. “I don’t want to see anything that might scar my psyche. I’m very sensitive.”

“You’re very something,” I said. I straightened up and put the truck in gear.

Ethan slugged my shoulder with a loose fist and laughed. “C’mon, Kathleen, you know you’ve missed me.”

“Like a root canal,” I countered as I backed out of the driveway. “Like fingernails on a chalkboard.” We’d been doing this routine for years.

“Do they still have chalkboards?” Ethan asked.

“Like a colonoscopy. Like Mom’s hot cross buns.” Our mother’s hot cross buns were legendary. They looked like they belonged in an issue of Bon Appétit. But they were harder than a concrete paver. Dad had literally chipped a tooth on one of them, although as far as Mom was concerned the tooth had a weak spot and the fact that it broke when he took a bite of — or at least tried to take a bite of — one of her hot cross buns was just an unfortunate coincidence.

Ethan narrowed his eyes at me. “Ooooh, Mom’s hot cross buns. Burn.”

I glanced over at him, head back against the seat, fingers tapping a rhythm on his leg that only he could hear, and I was hit with a wash of homesickness, like someone had just upended a bucket of water over my head. I missed them: Mom, Dad, Sara and Ethan, even though he was right here beside me.

It wasn’t easy being so far away from Boston, from all of them. Not that my family were always in Boston. Ethan was on the road a lot with the band. Sara’s work as a makeup artist and filmmaker had her traveling more and more, and while Mom and Dad were teaching, they still went where the acting jobs were, which in my mother’s case meant Los Angles a couple of times a year for a recurring role on the daytime drama The Wild and Wonderful.

On the other hand I had a life now in Minnesota, a life with Owen and Hercules, my cats, with Marcus and Maggie and a group of friends I’d miss just as much as I missed my family now if I went back to Boston.

“Hey, I never did ask,” Ethan began. “Did you know that dipwad in the bar?”

I shook my head. “No, I don’t know him, at least not personally. He’s here in Mayville Heights to maybe start a business.”

“You get some interesting people in bars,” Ethan said. “When we played in Chicago this woman got up on her chair, whipped off her shirt and started dancing. Then she yelled at me to come give her an autograph.”

“I think that makes you a certified rock star,” I teased, “being asked to autograph a woman’s bra.”

Ethan raised an eyebrow just the way I sometimes did, à la Mr. Spock from Star Trek. “I didn’t say she had a bra on under her shirt.”

“Ewww,” I said with a shudder. “Now my delicate psyche is scarred.”

Ethan shook with laughter. “She was wearing a tank top. And I signed the back of it!” He spent the rest of the drive home sharing all the weird things he’d been asked to autograph, including a bald guy’s head and the top of a toilet tank. I laughed so much I got hiccups and I forgot all about drunks in bars.







A Night’s Tail (Magical Cats)
Cozy Mystery
11th in Series
Berkley (September 3, 2019)
Hardcover: 288 pages
ISBN-10: 0440001137
ISBN-13: 978-0440001133
Digital ASIN: B07L7SSYYZ





Librarian Kathleen Paulson’s brother, Ethan, and his band, The Flaming Gerbils, are spending some time in Mayville Heights. Ethan and his band-mate Derek, are giving a song-writing workshop at the St. James Hotel when they stumble upon the body of Lewis Wallace. The former football player was considering the town for the site of his newest business venture. However, not everyone was a fan of the brash ex-athlete, who had a failed business, some disgruntled customers, and several lawsuits in his past. Did he make a new enemy, or did Lewis Wallace’s past finally catch up with him? It’s up to Kathleen — with some furry assistance from her talented cats, Owen and Hercules — to figure out who was trying to settle the score.







About Sofie Kelly

Sofie Kelly writes the New York Times bestselling Magical Cats mysteries that feature librarian Kathleen Paulson and her two very special cats, Owen and Hercules, who have a magical knack for solving crime. As Sofie Ryan she is the author of the New York Times bestselling Second Chance Cat mystery series. She lives on the east coast with her husband and daughter.

Website: www.sofiekelly.com

Purchase Links – AmazonBarnes and NobleIndiebound

Giveaway

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792937


Please follow the rest of the tour here, thanks:

https://www.escapewithdollycas.com/great-escapes-virtual-book-tours/books-currently-on-tour/a-nights-tail-magical-cats-by-sofie-kelly








Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books Wish List

 
Please list the books from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.

Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books, I'm Waiting For:   





I have three deadly problems:

1. I've seriously offended a maniacal killer.
2. I just had a bullet removed from my brain.
3. My new daughter is growing up too fast -- and she's in the line of fire.


Living on an obscure, technology-free island off California means safety from the murderer who hunts Kellen Adams and her new family.... Or does it? Family time becomes terror-time, and at last, alone, Kellen faces a killer playing a cruel game. Only one can survive, and Kellen knows who must win and who must die.

STRANGERS SHE KNOWS: The Grand Finale of Cape Charade Thrillers coming September 17, 2019. Pre-order your copy today!

Read the acclaimed Cape Charade series:
#1 HARD TO KILL: A Cape Charade Short Suspense
#2 DEAD GIRL RUNNING: A Cape Charade Full-length Thriller
#3 FAMILIES AND OTHER ENEMIES: A Cape Charade Short Suspense
#4 WHAT DOESN'T KILL ME: A Cape Charade Full-length Thriller
#5. HIDDEN TRUTHS: A Cape Charade Short Suspense
#6. STRANGERS SHE KNOWS: A Cape Charade Full-length Thriller
Coming in Audio! The three Cape Charade short suspenses, HARD TO KILL, FAMILIES AND OTHER ENEMIES and HIDDEN TRUTHS, starring Kellen Adams.


Join Christina Dodd's mailing list to enjoy book sales, book news, and entertainment brought right to your inbox, and a free story for you. christinadodd.com

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

New Release (Sept 10)














When missing turns to murdered, one woman's search for answers will take her to a place she never wanted to go.

After searching for her sister for two long years, Kate Gallagher is devastated when she’s called to the morgue to identify Chrissy’s body, the runaway teen the victim of a brutal attack. Guilt and grief send Kate into a tailspin. She failed Chrissy once she won’t do it again. Even if finding her sister’s killer means following a lethal bounty hunter into the heart of darkness, placing both their lives in danger.

Working at Maximum Security has taken Jason Maddox down some dangerous paths, but never for a client he’s so drawn to, or for a case so monstrous. As clues lead them deeper into the city’s underbelly, connections to human trafficking draw them closer and closer to peril, but even Jase’s warnings can’t convince Kate to walk away. As the deadly operation puts a target on their backs, they’ll have to decide what matters most: the truth or their lives.

Mary Ellen Hughes's A Curio Killing Blog Tour with a Spotlight and Giveaway

 

I am so excited to have Mary Ellen Hughes at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks Mary and Great Escapes Virtual Book Tours for allowing me to join your A Curio Killing Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Mary!






A Curio Killing (A Keepsake Cove Mystery)
Cozy Mystery
3rd in Series
Setting – Maryland
Midnight Ink (September 8, 2019)
Paperback: 264 pages
ISBN-10: 0738752266
ISBN-13: 978-0738752266
Digital ASIN: B07KMX5QY4





Callie finds treble in Keepsake Cove when her ex-boyfriend is framed for murder

Callie Reed is looking forward to her first Keepsake Cove spring festival. But her excitement dims considerably when she learns that her ex-boyfriend, Hank, will be performing with one of the hired country-western bands. Callie vows to keep her distance, but that changes when the band’s manager, Bobby Linville, is found dead, killed with the music box Hank bought at Callie’s shop.

Hank is soon singing a sad tune in a detention center with Callie his only lifeline. Though thoroughly aware of his many faults, she knows violence and murder aren’t in his blood. But that means one of her fellow Keepsake Cove residents must be hiding a dark secret — something Callie desperately needs to uncover.







About Mary Ellen Hughes

Mary Ellen Hughes is the bestselling author of the Pickled and Preserved Mysteries, the Craft Corner Mysteries, and the Maggie Olenski Mysteries, along with several short stories. The Keepsake Cove series begins with A Fatal Collection and continues with A VINTAGE DEATH and A CURIO KILLING.

Author Links

Facebook –
https://www.facebook.com/MaryEllenHughesauthor

Pinterest – https://www.pinterest.com/mehughes13/

Twitter – https://twitter.com/mehughesauthor

GoodReads – https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/402922.Mary_Ellen_Hughes

Purchase Links – Amazon B and N Midnight Ink Mystery Love Company Booksellers BAM IndieBound

Giveaway


http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/02887792937

Please follow the rest of the tour here, thanks:

https://www.escapewithdollycas.com/great-escapes-virtual-book-tours/books-currently-on-tour/a-curio-killing-a-keepsake-cove-mystery-by-mary-ellen-hughes