Wednesday, January 28, 2015

Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books Wish List

 

Please list the books from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.

Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books, I'm Waiting For:







From the New York Times bestselling author of Watch Your Back and Did You Miss Me comes the newest novel by ''the queen of romantic suspense'' (Crime and Punishment).

Psychologist Faith Corcoran is desperate to escape the stalker who's made her life a nightmare for the past year - desperate enough to run to the one place that has been her nightmare far longer. Both boon and bane, her recent inheritance of her grandmother's old house in Cincinnati offers a sanctuary in which she can start her life anew, but requires that she face dark memories that resonate to this day.

She has no idea, however, just how close to home her fears still are

Two college girls have gone missing in the area, and FBI special agent Deacon Novak is called to work on the case. When his inquiry unexpectedly leads him to Faith, he finds a beautiful and brave woman he can't help but fall for. Soon they'll discover that this seemingly simple investigation is anything but. Reaching back decades into Faith's own past, it will shatter everything she believes to be true and will give terrifying new meaning to ''flesh and blood.''









A rescued dog returns the favor in the latest Second Chance Romance from USA Today bestselling author of Shelter Me.

Detective AJ Parker left undercover work in Atlanta to join a small-town Tennessee police force, hoping for an easier workload and the solitude of his cabin. But the scars left by AJ’s previous work are more difficult to escape than he thought…

Mary Hannah Gallo works with the Second Chance Ranch Animal Rescue to train therapy dogs for traumatized patients. It isn’t easy, but her life is under control — until she meets the broodingly sensual AJ, who rattles her composure all the way to her toes.

After an assignment confiscating dogs from a backyard breeder reveals a dangerous drug operation, AJ must work with sexy perfectionist Mary Hannah to train an abused rescue dog — a dog now named Holly. While Holly proves to these two very different people that opposites can, in fact, attract, she also knows more than a few explosive secrets that could heal — or divide — the entire town.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Shannon McKenna's In For the Kill Blog Tour with Spotlight and Giveaway



I am so excited to Shannon McKenna at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews with a Spotlight and Giveaway.

Thanks Shannon and Goddess Fish Promotions for allowing me to join your In For the Kill Blog Tour!

Please take it away, Shannon!







AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Shannon McKenna is the NYT bestselling author of over ten action packed, turbocharged romantic thrillers, among which are the stories of the wildly popular McCloud series. She loves tough and heroic alpha males, heroines with the brains and guts to match them, villains who challenge them to their utmost, adventure, scorching sensuality, and most of all, the redemptive power of true love. Since she was small she has loved abandoning herself to the magic of a good book, and her fond childhood fantasy was that writing would be just like that, but with the added benefit of being able to take credit for the story at the end. Alas, the alchemy of writing turned out to be messier than she'd ever dreamed. But what the hell, she loves it anyway, and hopes that readers enjoy the results of her alchemical experiments. She loves to hear from her readers. Contact her at her website, http://shannonmckenna.com, or join the newsletter by signing up here: http://shannonmckenna.com/connect.php.

Connect with Shannon:


Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AuthorShannonMckenna

Twitter: http://twitter.com/shannonmckenna4

Publisher: http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/author.aspx/24658 




 




In for the Kill

by Shannon McKenna


BLURB:

Years ago, the McClouds and their friends rescued little Sveti Ardova from ruthless organ traffickers. Now she’s all grown up, and getting into some scorching trouble of her own.

NO SURRENDER

The risks ex-cop Sam Petrie has taken have turned his life into a train wreck. So he has nothing to lose by doubling down as the elusive Svetlana Ardova’s unwanted bodyguard on her ill-advised trip to Italy. Her crusade against modern slavery has blazoned a bullseye on her chest, but when one of the death threats against her almost hits the mark, Sam’s protective instincts go into overdrive. Every lethal obstacle and trap they encounter ups the stakes — and the undeniable heat between them.

Now they’re spiraling in on a deadly and explosive secret — one that could either redeem them or destroy them and the closer they get, the shorter the fuse.

Praise for Shannon McKenna

"The McCloud series is an auto buy for me." --Maya Banks

"McKenna writes intense, sensual stories." --The B&N Review

"Shannon McKenna makes the pulse pound." –BookPage

Additional info about the book:

Publisher: Kensington Books

Print Length: 416 pages

Publication Date: January 27, 2015

Buy Links:

Amazon: http://amazon.com/dp/B00M4ASP0G

Amazon print: http://www.amazon.com/dp/0758273517

Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/in-for-the-kill-shannon-mckenna/1119437341

B&N print: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/in-for-the-kill-shannon-mckenna/1119437341

BAM: http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Kill/Shannon-McKenna/9780758273512

Book Depository: http://www.bookdepository.com/for-Kill-Shannon-McKenna/9780758273512

Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/search?q=In+For+the+Kill&c=books


Excerpt 

"I watch the news, Sveti," he said patiently. "I'm a cop. I have friends. I hear things. Plus, you live-streamed, blogged and tweeted the whole thing to a hundred and twenty thousand followers."

"And you are one of them, now? Spying on me?"

He plowed right on past that one, there being no point. "Sneaking into that place with a live video camera on you was suicidal. You should have just passed the tip onto the police, and let them deal with it."

Her chin tilted up. "There were thirty-four trafficked Chinese nationals locked in there, slaving eighteen hours a day! I saw my chance, and took it! People have to see for themselves. It's the only thing that makes it real for them! That's what pulls in the donations!"

"You can't help anyone if you're dead," he pointed out. "But never mind that now. Just tell me about the death threats."

"It was just a letter," she said, defensive. "Hand delivered. It said they were going to kill me. That's all. Nothing came of it."

"When?"

She shook it off. "Months ago, now."

"So why aren't you guarded twenty-four seven?" he snarled.

"I was! For months! Finally I put my foot down, because it was absurd, Sam. I can't live my life like that. Don't worry! It's covered!"

Covered, his ass. But he knew a dead-end conversation when he heard one. He had lots of practice. Those were a Petrie family hobby.

"Fine," he said. "On to the next item that's not my business."

Her eyes dilated. He wished he had the super-senses they said Miles had now. His heart pounded too hard to hear hers, certainly at that distance. He started to close that distance, and she skittered back a pace. It took all his willpower to stay motionless, leaving none to hold back the incredibly ill-advised question. "If you don't want to talk about death threats, then tell me about your love life."

Her mouth tightened. "I would rather not."

"Tell me about loverboy. How long have you been seeing him?"

"You mean Josh? I've known him ever since Nick rescued me from Zhoglo. He's a good friend."

"Define 'friend," he said. "Does it mean, free to fondle your ass?"

The chin tilted up a notch. "You're being invasive."

"Yeah? Would you feel invaded to learn that he's hitting on two girls on the catering staff, in between groping slow-dances with you?"

Her gaze dropped, but she did not look as startled or upset about that revelation as she ought to. "You have no right to judge."

"Wrong," he informed her. "That ten minutes in Ranieri's home office two years ago. No matter how long ago, no matter how you've ignored me since then, that ten minutes gives me the right to give a shit. Tell me about Cattrell. Are you fucking him?"

"No!" The denial popped out, vehement and breathless.

Giveaway

Shannon will be giving away a $20 Amazon/BN GC to one lucky winner!


<a href="http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/28e4345f800">Enter to win a $20 Amazon/BN GC – a Rafflecopter giveaway</a>

Please follow the rest of the blog tour here, thanks: http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2015/01/book-blast-in-for-kill-by-shannon.html






New Releases 2015 (Jan 27)





















FBI agent Elizabeth LeBlanc is still caught in the aftermath of her last big case when she runs into the one man from her past who is sure to rock her equilibrium even more. Navy SEAL Derek Vaughn is back home from a harrowing rescue mission in which he found evidence of a secret terror cell on US soil. Elizabeth knows he’ll do anything to unravel the plot—including seducing her for information. And despite the risks involved, she’s tempted to let him. Together with the forensics experts at the Delphi Center, Derek and Elizabeth are closing in on the truth, but it may not be fast enough to avert a devastating attack.

Following in the bestselling tradition of the Tracers series, including Exposed, Scorched, and Twisted, Beyond Limits pulls out all the stops with Griffin’s most gripping thriller yet.









Murder is nothing to tap at

The high-kicking Happy Hoofers -- Tina, Janice, Pat, Mary Louise, and Gini -- have been booked to flaunt their fabulous flamenco footwork on a luxury train ride through northern Spain. But when a blowhard talk show host is found deader than four-day-old flan -- with Gini as suspect numero uno -- the feisty friends waste no time stepping into their sleuthing shoes to protect one of their own.

The dynamite dancers will have to step up their game before a clever killer brings the curtain down on one of them for good!

Includes Photo Tips And Tasty Recipes


 




Sunday, January 25, 2015

Library Haul 2015 (Jan 25 - 31)




Here's the list of books I picked up from the library this week:

Softcover:

1.  The Witch Hunter's Tale - Sam Thomas

Saturday, January 24, 2015

A Song to Die For (Hardcover)



I've finished "A Song to Die For" by Mike Blakely.

A Song to Die For -- a rousing tale mixing love, music, and mystery from Spur Award–winning author Mike Blakely.

It’s 1975 and guitarist and singer/songwriter Creed Mason hopes to ride the new wave of Texas-style, Austin-based country music all the way back to the big time. A one-hit wonder whose Nashville career was cut short by a trip to Vietnam, Creed is desperate to get back into the business. His break arrives when a country legend, Luster Burnett, comes out of a fifteen-year retirement for one last album and tour in order to pay off a huge debt to the I.R.S. As Luster’s new guitarist and band manager, Creed jumps at the chance of a lifetime.

Rosa Martini, a beautiful young mob princess from Las Vegas, is found dead just outside of Austin. Texas Ranger Captain Hooley Johnson looks into the case, only to find a second young woman murdered — a friend of Rosa’s. To complicate things, Rosa’s adoptive brother, mob hit man Franco Martini, is spotted nosing around Austin in the wake of the murders.

Soon it appears to Johnson, and to Creed, that the mob-related murders and the band are somehow connected. When the band wins an unexpected booking at the biggest casino in Vegas, Creed begins to wonder what kind of contract his band is being set up for — a major-label recording deal, or a mob hit?

Product Details
Hardcover: 352 pages
Publisher: Forge Books; First Edition edition (November 18, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0765327511
ISBN-13: 978-0765327512

My Review:

3.5/5

The Christie Curse (A Book Collector Mystery)




I've finished "The Christie Curse" the 1st book in her Book Collector Mystery series by Victoria Abbott.

In 1926, Agatha Christie disappeared — making headlines across the world — only to show up eleven days later at a spa under an assumed name. During those eleven days, did she have time to write a play?

Jordan Kelly needs a new job and a new place to live. She’s back in Harrison Falls, New York, living with her not so law-abiding uncles, in debt thanks to a credit card–stealing ex and pending grad school loans.

Enter the perfect job, a research position that includes room and board, which will allow her to spend her days hunting down rare mysteries for an avid book collector. There’s just one problem: her employer, Vera Van Alst — the most hated citizen of Harrison Falls.

Jordan’s first assignment is to track down a rumored Agatha Christie play. It seems easy enough, but Jordan soon finds out that her predecessor was killed while looking for it, and there is still someone out there willing to murder to keep the play out of Vera’s hands. Jordan’s new job is good but is it worth her life?

Product Details
Series: A Book Collector Mystery (Book 1)
Mass Market Paperback: 295 pages
Publisher: Berkley (March 5, 2013)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 042525528X
ISBN-13: 978-0425255285


My Review:

3.5/5

Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Mail (Jan 24)



Cozy, Mystery Thriller and Romantic Suspense Mail is hosted every Saturday at Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Reviews.

I received this in the mail this week.

For Review:








Detective Alex Cross is being stalked by a psychotic genius, forced to play the deadliest game of his career. Cross's family -- his loving wife Bree, the wise and lively Nana Mama, and his precious children -- have been ripped away. Terrified and desperate, Cross must give this mad man what he wants if he has any chance of saving the most important people in his life. The stakes have never been higher: What will Cross sacrifice to save the ones he loves?

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books Wish List

 

Please list the books from your wishlist that you are hoping to add to your shelves in a comment, thanks.

Cozy, Mystery Thrillers and Romantic Suspense Books, I'm Waiting For:



















FBI agent Elizabeth LeBlanc is still caught in the aftermath of her last big case when she runs into the one man from her past who is sure to rock her equilibrium even more. Navy SEAL Derek Vaughn is back home from a harrowing rescue mission in which he found evidence of a secret terror cell on US soil. Elizabeth knows he’ll do anything to unravel the plot—including seducing her for information. And despite the risks involved, she’s tempted to let him. Together with the forensics experts at the Delphi Center, Derek and Elizabeth are closing in on the truth, but it may not be fast enough to avert a devastating attack.

Following in the bestselling tradition of the Tracers series, including Exposed, Scorched, and Twisted, Beyond Limits pulls out all the stops with Griffin’s most gripping thriller yet.









Murder is nothing to tap at

The high-kicking Happy Hoofers -- Tina, Janice, Pat, Mary Louise, and Gini -- have been booked to flaunt their fabulous flamenco footwork on a luxury train ride through northern Spain. But when a blowhard talk show host is found deader than four-day-old flan -- with Gini as suspect numero uno -- the feisty friends waste no time stepping into their sleuthing shoes to protect one of their own.

The dynamite dancers will have to step up their game before a clever killer brings the curtain down on one of them for good!

Includes Photo Tips And Tasty Recipes