Wednesday, March 28, 2012

Celebrity In Death [Hardcover]

I've finished "Celebrity in Death" the 34th book in her In Death series by J.D. Robb.

Product Description

Lieutenant Eve Dallas is no party girl, but she's managing to have a reasonably good time at the celebrity - packed bash celebrating The Icove Agenda, a film based on one of her famous cases. It's a little spooky seeing the actress playing her, who looks almost like her long-lost twin. Not as unsettling, though, as seeing the actress who plays Peabody drowned in the lap pool on the roof of the director's luxury building. Now she's at the center of a crime scene - and Eve is more than ready to get out of her high heels and strap on her holster and step into the role she was born to play: cop.

About the Author

J.D. Robb is the pseudonym for a number one New York Times bestselling author of more than 190 novels, including the futuristic suspense In Death series. There are more than 400 million copies of her books in print.

Product Details
Reading level: Ages 18 and up
Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: Putnam Adult; 1 edition (February 21, 2012)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0399158308
ISBN-13: 978-0399158308

My Review:

Nadine Furst wrote a book The Icove Agenda based on the Icove case that Eve Dallas lived through.  Now it's being made into a movie which Eve and Dallas are checking out.  The actors and actresses playing their counterparts are doing a great job with their characteristics and looks they could all be twins.

Eve, Roarke, Peabody, McNab, Dr. Mira and her husband, Mavis and her husband and Nadine are at a gathering with the cast of the movie.  During dinner Eve exchanges some unpleasant words with K.T. Harris the actress portraying Peabody in the movie.  As everyone is watching a gag movie K.T. is murdered and Eve has to solve the case.

As Eve digs deeper into the case she discovers K.T. was keeping alot of secrets and liked to disrupt her fellow co-stars lives by blackmailing them or coercing them to do what she wanted.  Eve also learns secrets of all the other major players and finally figures who the killer is.

This book deals with the deeper development of  Eve and Roarke's relationship.  Eve is finally coming to terms about what happened in Texas and Roarke is still worried about her and how she changed his outlook since she came into his life.

I really liked how detailed the characteristics of the characters which made them seem so real and I got the feeling of what they were like.  K.T. was a pretty nasty person who loved to manipulate her fellow co-stars.

Glad to see Nadine take a more active role in this book and became a hero in helping prevent a character from dying.

Loved the witty lines!


Other books in series:

1.   Naked in Death
2.   Glory in Death 
3.   Immortal in Death
4.   Rapture in Death
5.   Ceremony in Death
6.   Vengeance in Death
7.   Holiday in Death
8.   Conspiracy in Death
9.   Loyalty in Death
10. Witness in Death
11. Judgement in Death
12. Betrayal in Death
13. Seduction in Death
14. Reunion in Death
15. Purity in Death
16. Portrait in Death
17. Imitation in Death
18. Divided in Death
19. Visions in Death
20. Survivor in Death
21. Origin in Death
22. Memory in Death
23. Born in Death
24. Innocent in Death
25. Creation in Death
26. Strangers in Death
27. Salvation in Death
28. Promises in Death
29. Kindred in Death
30. Fantasy in Death
31. Indulgence in Death
32. Treachery in Death
33. New York to Dallas
34. Delusions in Death - Sept 13, 2012
35. Time of Death - Nov 27, 2012

Thanks Penguin Canada for sending me this book to review, greatly appreciated!

No comments:

Post a Comment