Thursday, April 7, 2011

The Night Season [Hardcover]

I've finished "The Night Season" the 4th book in her Archie Sheridan series by Chelsea Cain.

Product Description

With the Beauty Killer Gretchen Lowell locked away behind bars once again, Archie Sheridan — a Portland police detective and nearly one of her victims — can finally rest a little easier. Meanwhile, the rest of the city of Portland is in crisis. Heavy rains have flooded the Willamette River, and several people have drowned in the quickly rising waters. Or at least that’s what they thought until the medical examiner discovers that the latest victim didn’t drown: She was poisoned before she went into the water. Soon after, three of those drownings are also proven to be murders. Portland has a new serial killer on its hands, and Archie and his task force have a new case.

Reporter Susan Ward is chasing this story of a new serial killer with gusto, but she’s also got another lead to follow for an entirely separate mystery: The flooding has unearthed a skeleton, a man who might have died more than sixty years ago, the last time Portland flooded this badly, when the water washed away an entire neighborhood and killed at least fifteen people.

With Archie following the bizarre trail of evidence and evil deeds to catch a killer and possibly regain his life, and Susan Ward close behind, Chelsea Cain — one of today’s most talented suspense writers — launches the next installment of her bestselling series with an electric thriller.

About the Author

Chelsea Cain’s first three novels featuring Archie Sheridan—Heartsick, Sweetheart, and Evil at Heart—have all been New York Times bestsellers. Also the author of Confessions of a Teen Sleuth, a parody based on the life of Nancy Drew, and several nonfiction titles, she was born in Iowa, raised in Bellingham, Washington, and now lives in Portland, Oregon, with her family.

Product Details
Hardcover: 336 pages
Publisher: Minotaur Books; First Edition edition (March 1, 2011)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 0312619766
ISBN-13: 978-0312619763

My Review:

I highly recommend this series if you like dark mystery with truly horrific killers and a tortured hero.

Storyline: Gretchen Lowell is behind bars so Archie has kicked his addiction to vicodin and concentrating on his job. He still misses it sometimes.

The Williamette River keeps rising. Years ago, it was breached and thousands died. Now, bodies keep being found, drowned. Archie thinks nothing of it until the medical examiner finds a puncture mark on the victim which makes them believe it was Murder. But when they then examine the other bodies, they find the same puncture mark. They now have a serial killer on their hands. With more tests done, they come to the conclusion that a rare octopus is biting the victims, causing almost instant paralysis. When Archie's dear friend and partner Henry is bit, Archie can hardly breathe himself. They get Henry to the hospital in time, but the bite is deadly and all they can do is wait for the inevitable.

Reporter Susan Ward has been making a bigger name for herself in the newspaper industry. Archie allows her on almost every crime scene, and Susan is usually the first to scoop up the competition. She's been working on a really old story of when the town of Vanport (a place not far from their current location) was flooded and many were killed. She's found a skeleton and believes it to be one of the victims. Archie doesn't see what the connection could be and concentrates on his current case.

As his investigation deepens, they realize a young boy is involved (a boy kidnapped over a year ago). Archie promises the parents he will retrieve and bring him home. But if Archie keeps jumping in the river to save people, he won't be able to save himself. His lungs are very weak from the torture he sustained from Beauty Killer Gretchen Lowell.

The stakes are heating up and the killer is closer than they think. As the water rises, the deaths climb and no where near the water is safe, especially not knowing where the killer lurks with the deadly octopus.

Characters: It was great to see Susan play a bigger part in this book. She has matured alot and has grown strong without losing any of her quirkiness.

Archie is such a great detective when he's thinking clearly and not doped up with vicodin and lusting after Gretchen. It's really great to see he has cleaned up his addiction and being friendly to his ex-wife and getting along with his kids.

Was kind of disappointed only saw Gretchen at the end!

Killer: This is one sick killer who really gets off on his octopus killing. He has also conditioned the boy to return back to him and makes the boy watch his killings and participate! He definately has no remorse and we later find out why he is killing. Glad the killer got what they deserved in the end!


Thanks Anna from FSB Media for sending me this book to review, greatly apppreciated!

No comments:

Post a Comment