Saturday, March 22, 2014

Murder in the Afternoon (Kate Shackleton)

I've finished "Murder in the Afternoon" by Kate Shackleton.

An intricate plot in the post-WWI English countryside and Frances Brody's "refreshingly complex heroine" (Kirkus) combine in Murder in the Afternoon, an absorbing mystery perfect for fans of Jacqueline Winspear and Agatha Christie.

Dead one minute

Young Harriet and her brother Austin have always been scared of the quarry where their stone mason father works. So when they find him dead on the cold ground, they rush off quickly to look for some help.

Alive the next?

When help arrives, however, the quarry is deserted and there is no sign of the body. Were the children mistaken? Is their father not dead? Did he simply get up and run away?

A sinister disappearing act

It seems like another unusual case requiring the expertise of Kate Shackleton -- and Mary Jane, the children's mother, is adamant that only she can help. But Mary Jane is hiding something -- a secret from Kate's past that raises the stakes and puts both Kate and her family at risk.

Product Details
Series: Kate Shackleton (Book 3)
Hardcover: 400 pages
Publisher: Minotaur Books (February 11, 2014)
Language: English
ISBN-10: 1250037026
ISBN-13: 978-1250037022

My Review:


No comments:

Post a Comment